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Board President's Perspective

A review of the Board’s activities last year refiects the accomplishments of the Board

during Fiscal Year 2003. A sampling of these activities includes:

» lssued 100% of licenses and certificates to applicants within the time frames estab-
lished by law. The average time for processing an application was 16 days.

s lnvestigated 100% of written complaints and unlawful practice investigations received
by the Board over which the Board has jurisdiction. On average, investigated com-
plaints were reviewed by the Board within 90 days of receipt. 27 complaint. and
unlawful practice investigations were opened by the Board in Fiscal Year 2002.
Fulfilled public records requests in an average of 4.5 days.

Processed 2,811 applications for renewal of license or certificate.

»  Responded to 100% of requests for written verification of license or certificate within
15 days of receipt.

» Audited the continuing competence requiremerits of ©.7% of licensess. This included the
5% random sample of physical therapists initially selected for audit and all of the
physical therapists who renewed their licenses past the August 31, 2002 deadline.

The following actions were taken by the Board in Fiscal Year 2003 in public session during

the monthly Board meetings:

e Llicensed 241 physical therapists.

»  Certified 77 physical therapists assistants.

*  Found 9 licensees out of compliance with continuing competence requirements.

»  Processed 12 unlawful practice investigations (continuing to practice with lapsed

licenses), all of which resulted in disciplinary action against the licensees.

Conducted 1 formal hearing.

Conducted 10 informal interviews related to complaint deliberations.

* Discussed and adopted language for the Board's Sunset continuation bill and omnibus
bill for needed statute revisions for consideration by the Legislature in 2004

The Board has identified a number of strategic issues that it intends to address during
the course of Fiscal Year 2004. These include: 1) Complying with requirements associated
with the Legislative Sunset Review process and working to justify the continuation of the
agency after June 30, 2004; 2) Developing a psychometrically defensible jurisprudence
examination for applicants for licensure and certification; 3) Securing Legielative approval
10 enter into an interagency service agreement with the Arizona Attorney General's Office
for purposes of dedicated legal representation; 4) Securing passage of an emnibus kill
that will make a number of necessary technical changes to the Arizona Physical Therapy
Practice Act; and B) Continuation of efforts to develop administrative rules and policies
and procedures addressing assessment of the continuing competence of Arizona licensed
physical therapists and certified physical therapist assistants.

We invite the participation of physical therapists and physical therapist assistante by
observing the regulatory process. The Board continues to post their meeting times, typi-
cally held the 3rd Tuesday of each month. By learning about the Board's role in protection
of the public, licensees and certificate-holders can facilitate their ability to practice most
appropriately and in accordance with legal and ethical requiremente.

Helene Fearon, P.T., Board President
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The Arizona Board of PT: A Public Member's Perspective

As a public member of the Arizona Board of Physical Therapy,
| bring a non-clinical perspective to the table. As a non-clini-
cian who has worked in health care for many years, | also
bring to the table my experience in health care.

As a member of the Board it is my responsibility to see
that the public and the public welfare are protected and
promoted. Protection of the practitioner is not the respon-
sibility of the Board. However, how we hear and adjudicate
complainte can promote the profession, and even protect
the individual practitioner from unfounded accusations.

One of my more pleasant memories is of Jim Roush, Ph.D.,
PT, ATC/L, Associate Professor and Fresident of the Physi-
cal Therapy Association thanking me for asking the hard
questions that needed to be asked.

What are some of the tougher questions the Board has
asked this past year?

Would the public be better protected by stronger statute
language prohibiting sexual miscorduct? There is a bound-
ary between the intimate physical therapist-patient rela-
tionship and an inappropriate exploitation. This boundary
can be crossed from either direction. The difficulty inherent
in establishing coherent policy on this subject is enumer-
ated in the plethora of dissimilar policies of heaith care
boards not enly in Arizona but also across the United
States.

Would the public be better protected by requiring physical
therapists to report information not already required by iaw,
such as notice of potentially adverse legal action? What if a
physical therapist had knowledge of another physical
therapist’s substance abuse? This is an area where the
Board has made incremental changss to strengthen cur-
rent rules and regulations.

Would the public be better protected by raising standards
with respect to maintaining adequate patient records? lroni-
cally, based on recent complaints filed with the Board, physi-
cal therapists would be better protected if they maintained
better patient records! A physical therapist can be his or
her own worst enemy by failing to maintain adequate pa-
tient records.

What about the future of physical therapy? How will physi-
cal therapiste be impacted by the privacy requiremerits of
HIPAA? Auditory and visual privacy demands may force a
rethinking of physical therapy clinic layout.

Physical therapists, like other health care practitioners, will
be increasingly challenged by more sophisticated consum-
ers, The physical therapist who does not maintain meticu-
lous patient records and ignores this trend in consumer
behavior will not be prepared for the impact.

These future challenges also impact the Board of Physical
Therapy. Barbara Safriet, JD, Public member, FSBFT, it her
keynote address at the FSBPT 2003 Spring Meeting, ar-
ticulated three points, which bear repeating in this colurn.

First, the purpose of health care boards is to protect and
promote the public welfare. Second, promoting the public
welfare requires active participation in ensuring an adequate
supply of appropriately educated physical therapists to
meet the public need. Third, boards must advocate for these
needs in the regulatory, educational and professional com-
munities.

As a public member, | can state that the Arizona Board of
Physical Therapy is actively engaged in alt three areas.

Richard D. Brinkley (Former public member)

L

BOARD MEETING DATES

The Arizona State Board of Physical Therapy usually meets on the 4th Tuesday of each
month at 1400 W. Washington, Phoenix Arizona. Meetings are open to the public. Con-
tact the State Boards Office at 602-542-3095 to confirm dates and starting times
and to cbtain agendas. The following meeting dates have been scheduled for 2004:

January 27, 2004 February 24, 2004 March 23, 2004
April 27, 2004 May 25, 2004 June 22, 2004

July 27, 2004 August 24, 2004 September 28, 2004
COctober 26, 2004 November 2004 TBA  December 2004 TBA
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Board Legislative Activities in 2004

A critical priority for the Arizona Board of Physical Therapy
is securing passage of two bille by the second regular ses-
sion of the 46" Arizona State Legislature that will affect
the regulation of the practice of physical therapy. Of high-
gst importance is passage of what is known as a "continu-
ation bill". Current Arizona taw mandates that the agency
will terminate on June 20, 2004 and that the Physical
Therapy Practice Act will be repeaied on January 1, 2008.
Most Arizona state agencies have a certain “life-span” or
duration of time that the law stipulates they are to exists
for purposes of delivering services to the residents of the
state. As that termination date approaches, special Legis-
lative committees complete a review or audit of that agency
and make a determination whether to recommend to the
fuli Legislature that the agency be continued past what is
known as the “sunset date”™. As the Board's sunset date of
June 30, 2004 is rapidly approaching, it is imperative that
the agency accomplish its goal of passage of a continua-
tion bill that will be considered when the Legislature con-
venes in January.

The agency cleared a major hurdle toward its goal of con-
tinuation when the Health Committee of Reference voted
unanimously on October 27, 2003 to recommend the agency
be continued for 10 years past Jung 20, 2004. The Board
presented a report to the Committes that descrived its
purpose, its accomplishments, and the potential ramifica-
tions to public protection if the agency were to sunset on
its scheduled date. Senator Toni Hellon (District 26) and
Representative Deb Gullett (District 11) chaired this Com-
mittes. The remaining members are Senators Barbara Leff
(District 11), Dr. Henry Cannell (District 24), Linda Binder
(District 3), and Richard Miranda (District 16) as well as
Representatives Bob Stump (District 9), Phil Lopes (Dis-

trict 27), Philip Hanson (District 9), and Cheryl Chase (Dis-
trict 23). The Committee’s action enabled the Board to re-
quest that a bill be drafted that, if passed by the Legisla-
ture, would grant the Board continuation until June 30, 20'14;
Senator Hellon has agreed to sponsor that bill, and other
members will likely have signed on as co-sponsors by the
time you receive this newslester. The bill number is S8 (Sen-
ate Bill) 1021, and it can be viewed on the Arizona State
Legislature web-site at http:.//www.azleg.state. az.us/.

Additionally, the Board conducted a thorough review of Ari-
zona Revised Statutes §32-2001 through 832-2052 dur-
ing the summer and fali of 2003 to determine whether any
revisions to those statutes are necessary in order to en-
sure the Board's efficacy. A number of technical changes
and a smaller number of substantive changes were approved
by the Board as a result of these reviews, and these changes
have been incorparated into an omnibus biil that will also be
sponsored by Senator Hellon. The Board resisted proposing
any changes that might be perceived by stakeholders as
being controversial and elected to focus on improving, and
tmaking necessary corrections to, the practice act. The Board
invited the Arizona Fhysical Therapy Assocciation to offer
comments to the proposed changes, and was grateful to
those who represented AzFTA and who presented helptul
comments and insightful feedback to the process. There i
no bill number as yet, but the bill, once filed, can be tracked
on the Arizona Legislature web-site,

As a licensee or certificate holder you can stay informed on
the progress of these bills by either tracking them yourself
on http://www.azleg.state.az.us/, or by e-mailing the Board's
Executive Director, Heidi Herbst Faakkonen, at
www.ptboard.state.az.us.

Proposed changes to the Physical Therapy statutes include:
» Clarifying that physical therapist assistants are subject to many of the same regulatory requirements as physical

therapists.

* Deleting the licensure exemption for athletic trainers since they are now regulated by the athletic training board.

* Adding an exemption from licensure for a PT licensed in another state who is traveling with athletic teams, athletic
organizations or performing arts companies for not more than 60 days in a calendar year.

* Adding an exemption from licensure for a FT licensed in another state who enters Arizona to provide physical therapy to
victims of a declared local, state or national disaster or emergency for not more than 60 days in a calendar year.

* Moving language addressing "patient care management" from rules (R4-24-303) to statute.

* Adding language addressing licensees' and certificate-holders' due process rights under AR.S. Title 41, Chapter ©.

* Clarifying licensure reguirements for foreign educated physical therapiste and which requirements may be waived by the

Board.

* Removing the requirement of Board approval of remediation plans for applicants attempting to pass the national exami

nation following two failures.

* Requiring a voluntary surrender of license or certificate to occur under a Board order or consent agreemient.
* Making technical and clarifying changes to more closely parallel improved "Model Practice Act” language.
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Board of PT Enforcement' Activities

The following is an explanation of the actions the Board may take when adjudicating a complaint:

Non-disciplinary actiohs:
If the Board finds that the information received in a com-

plaint or an investigation is not of sufficient seriousness to

merit direct action against the licensee or certificate holder

it may take either of the following actions (A.R.S. 832-

2045):

» Dismiss the complaint if it is without merit.

* File a letter of concern, which may be used in future
disciplinary actions against a licensee or certificate
holder.

Disciplinary actions:

If at an informal interview the Board finds a violation that

constitutes grounds for disciplinary action, it may take the

following actions (AR.S. §32-2046 and 2047):

* |ssue a decree of censure, which is an official reprimand
against a physical therapist or physical therapist as-
sistant.

» Place a physical therapist or physical thcragtst assi5-
tant on probation. The Board can prescribe a licensee's

or certificate holder's scope or place of practice, super-
vision of practice, or the type or condition of patient or
client served.

If the results of an informal interview indicate that more

serious action might be in order, the Board will refer the

matter to a formal hearing (A.R.S. §32-2046 and 2047)

to consider the following actions:

*  DSuspend a license or certificate for a period prescrived
by the Board.

e  Eevoke alicense or certificate.

e  Refuse to issue or renew a license or certificate.

* Impose a civil penalty of at least $250 doliars but not
more than $10,000 for each violation of the law.

* Accept 3 voluntary surrendering of a license or certifi-
cate.

BOARD ACTIONS 2003

All Board actions are taken in public session. Lontact the Board office for public complaint information or public records.

Case # Name Lic. # Violation
02-12 Robert Henert, PT 2670  32-2044(1)
02-20 Otuome Ckoye, FT 5085 32-2044{12)
32-2044(14)
32-2044(20)
02-22 Shaun Bartiow, PT 5176  32-2044(0)
02-23 T.Michael Hakes, FT 37869 32-2044(4)
: 52-2044(20)
02-24 Pamela Baumgardner, FTO716  52-2044(3)
22-2027(A)
03-07 Paul Kempton, PT 2450 32-2044(12)
32-2044(13)
32-204420)
03-1& Dariel DeCraene, FT 4347 32-2044(4)
32-2044{20)
03-1¢ Diana Engler, FT 0471 32-2044(9)

Lack of informed consent
Unethical conduct
Fraudulent representation
inadequate records
Unlawful supervision
Substandard care
lnadequate documentation
Fraudulent renewal

Working with lapsed license
Unethical conduct
Fraudulent. fees
Inadequate documentation
Substandard care
Inadequate documentation

Action

Decree of censure

1 year probation: supervision,
records review, ethics &
docurnentation coursework,

Decree of censure

1 year probation: supervision,
records review, clinical coursework.

t year probation: civil penalty,
ethics coursework, essay.

© months probation: billing &
documentation coursework,
records review, billing procedures.

1 year probation: documentation &
clinical coursework, records review.

Disciplinary action in Maryland Frobation until 512/05: AZ juris-

prudance exam, coursework.

The following individuals were found in violation of AR.S. 32-2027(A) Failure to renew license or certificate by the renewat
deadline of August 31, 2002. All of these individuals practiced as physical therapists unlawfully after September 1, 2003
with a lapsed license and signed consent agreements in lieu of formal hearing for disciplinary action:

Case # Name
02-10-Urt Julie Dale, FT

Lic. #

Violation

26800

03-01-UPI Paul Hospenthal, PT 2381

03-02-UPl Anne Schwarting, FTS525

03-03-UPI| Lorri Bentley, PT
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5044

22-2046(A) Unlawful practice
{4 months)

52-2046(A) Unlawful practice
(& months)

22-2048(A) Unlawful practice
(9 days)

32-20485(A) Unlawful practice
(2 months)

Action

CONTINUED on page 5

1year probation, $179 fine, essay,

35 hrs. community service

1year probation, $2,000 fine, essay,
self-report to insurers, 35 hrs, comm. service
1year probation, $100 fine, essay,

20 hrs. community service

1 year probation, $2,500 fine, esgay,

self report to insurers, 50 hre. comm. service



10 Things You Need to Know...about RENEWAL

Mark your calendars; this is the year to renew your license
or certificate. Per Arizonz law all licenses and certificates
expire August 31, 2004 at midnight. In order to facilitate a
timely renewal make note of the followina:

1. Be on Time! Submit the renewal application prior to Au-
gust 31, 2004 ih accordance with A.A.C. R4-24-205(A) and
AAC. R4-24-208(A).

2. Does the Board have your current address? Did you move
during the previous renewal period? Did you notify the Board
office in writing (US mail, fax or e-mail) of the change? AR.S,
5 32-2027(8).

3. is the renewal application complete? Verify you com-
pletely answered every question on the application including
your home and business addresses and telephone numbers.
AR.5. 8 32-2003(10).

4. Did you include the correct renewal fee? The fee is
$100.00 for a physical therapist license and $50.00 for a
physical therapist assistant certificate. AA.C. R4-24-
206(3). Checks returned for insufficient funds (NSF) will
not count towards timely renewal.

8. How can you verify receipt of your renewal? The Board
staff recommends sending the renewal application by any
means of mail which requires a receipt of acceptance, i.e.

certified mail or priority mail.

6. Did you complete the required continuing competence
requirement? Do not submit the documentation with the
renewal application. You will be notified if you are randomly
selected for audit.

7. Change of name. If you are submitting a name change
include legal documentation describing the change, such as
a copy of the marriage license, divorce decree or a copy of
your social security card and driver’s license.

8. What if you do not receive a renewal application? The
Board will be mailing the notice in early July 2004 Notify
the Board immediately by fax or e-mail of the address to
send the application. AAC. R4-24-205(B) or AALC. R4-
24-208(B).

9. What happens if you miss the deadline? You wili be re-
quired to renew and reinstate your license or certificate,
which requires an additional fee. AR.S. 5 22-2025.

10. Can you practice if you miss the deadline? Fursuant
to AR.S. § 32-2027 you may not practice as a physical
therapist or work as a physical therapist assistant until
your license or certificate has been reinstated. Practicing
with lapsed credentials will result in disciplinary action by
the Board. ARS. § 32-2044.

RENEW YOUR LICENSE or CERTIFICATE ON TIME...It’s the LAW!

..

.* Written verification of license or certificate is available °e,

o for a fee of $5 upon written request. Payment must be
° received with the request. Yerifications are processed

* once weekly, usually on Fridays. Submit requests to the o

‘. Arizona State Board of Physical Therapy. o*

BOARD ACTIONS 2003...Continued from page 4

The Board has taken action against the following licensees through Consent Agreemente for failing to comply with
continuing competence requirements during the 2000-2002 compliance period.

Case # Name LicZ  Action

CC O1-2003  Pamela Baumgardner, PT 0716 $ 250 fine 3 day license suspension 3 hrs. addl. cont. comp.
CC 02-2003  Carol Binswanger, FT 1660 $ 750 fine 5 day license suspension 20 hrs, addl. cont. comp.
CC 03-2003  Janice Hunt Herman, FT 0667 $ 250 fine 3 day license suspension 6 hra, addl. cont. comp.
CC 04-2003  William Jacovini, PT A3B70  $1,500 fine 20 hrs, addl. cont. comp.
CC 06-2003  JanePerri, FT 0215 Voluntary surrender of license

CC O7-2003  JohnPozdol, FT 1944 $ 250 fine 3 day license suspension 3 hre, addl. cont. comp.
CC 06-2003  James FPrice, FT 4243 $ 280 fine 3 day license suspension 3 hra. addl. cont. comp.
CC 09-200%  Heather Morrison, PT 0797 ¢ 250 fine 3 day license suspension 10 hre. addl. cont. comp.
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DOCUMENTATION: IT'S THE LAW

By Joni Kalis, PT, Board member

There are numerous reasons why physical therapists docu-
tment in the patient record: to comply with state law; to
fulfill facility or regulatory requirements; to communicate
with other health care workers and 3 party payers; and,
perhaps most importantly, for ourselves and for own record
of a patient’s course of treatment

Fer Arizona statue 32-2044 (20), failure to maintain ad-
equate patient records is grounds for disciplinary action.
The physical therapist is responsible for documentation of
all services provided to each patient. This includes an initial
evaluation containing objective findings, a diagnosis, a plan
of care, a treatment record, period re-evaluation, and a dis-
charge summary that includes the patient’s response to
treatment at the time of discharge. All records must be
legivie and contain sufficient information to identify the
patient. A physical therapist is also required to be aware of
fees, billing practices, and what constitutes an unreascn-
able or fraudulent fee.

The documentation requirements in Arizona law are actu-
ally quite minimal when compared to other states such as
Oregon and Maryland. Regardless of the level of documen-
tation required, all licensees are expected to be in compli-
ance with state law. Many of the complaints that have come
before the Board in the past two years have an element of
inadequate documentation that usually reflects unfavor-
ably on the therapist. A discussion of these cases may pro-
vide physical therapists with heightened appreciation of how
the Board interprets adequate documentation.

Examples of complaints that have resulted in Board action
include:

» A physical therapist had “circled” various therapeutic in-
terventions on the daily documentation template, such as
manual electric stimuiation and therapeutic exercise. How-
ever, the therapist made no accompanying written entries
as to what exercises were performed or where and how the
‘electrical stimulation and other modalities were applied. The
patient. record did not contain adequate documentation to
support the treatment billings.

* A patient claimed that she was injured by the physical
therapist during the initial evaluation and a subsequent
treatment session. The physical therapist treated a sac-
roiliac joint problem and ignored not only the primary symp-
toms of an L5 radiculopathy but also the physician's order
and MRl results confirming the lumbar pathology. There was
a significant lack of documentation in the initial evaluation,
including an absence of neurclogical testing. The therapist
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did not provide rationale for choosing to treat the sacro-
iliac joint instead of the lumbar spine. Although the claim of
actual injury to the patient was not established, the physi-
cal therapist was disciplined for failing to maintain adequate
patient records as well as for substandard care, which in
Arizona statute includes “failure to act regardless of
whether actual injury to the patient is established.”

* A patient claimed that her neck was further injured in
physical therapy. The complaint was filed against the evalu-
ating (primary) physical therapist. After review of the
patient’s records that documented long-standing cervical
pain and pathology, the board determined that the patient’s
primary physical therapist did not injure or harm the pa-
tient. However, during this record review, the Board noted
that the physical therapist who provided care on the sec-
ond visit (not the evaluating therapist) provided the pa-
tient with a treatment (cervical traction) that was not in-
cluded in the plan of care. The Board opened an investiga-
tion of this therapist as she did not follow the plan of care,
hor did she re-evaluate and update the plan of care to in-
slude traction,

¢ A physical therapist documented both instructional and
treatment sessions with a Navajo patient who didn’t speak
English and who, without an interpreter, was unable to com-
municate with other hospital staff. This same therapist
documented an extensive physical therapy exercise session
with a different patient who had suffered respiratory failure
the night before. Hospital records indicated that the pa-
tient would have been physically unable to perform any physi-
cal exercise after the onset of his respiratory failure, The
Board determined that these treatment sessions could not

CONTINUED on page 7

Joni Kalis, PT {extreme right) with Board members Donna Borden, FT, and Helene
Fearon, PT, and Board staff Heidi Herbst. Paakkonen, Peg Hiller and Carol Lopez.



DOCUMENTATION...Continued from page 6

have happened and the physical therapist was found in vio-
fation of failing to adhere to recognized standards of eth-
ics, making misleading, deceptive, untrue or fraudulent rep-
resentations, and failing to maintain adequate patient
records.

* A physical therapist’s treatment record included incon-
sistencies in documentation, such as strength grades vary-
ing by an entire grade from one day to the next, and lacked
adequate documentation as to the level of assistance
needed for balance activities, both measures that were key
areas related to the complaint. Additionally, the treatment
record did not support the therapist's assertions of regu-
lar communication with the physician since these conversa-
tions were not documented. The therapist was found in vio-
lation of failing to maintain adequate patient recorde.

» A contract physical therapist filed a complaint against
the physical therapist owner of the practice when the con-
tractor realized that the billings for the patients treated
. did not mat.ch what was documented in the treatment record
and marked on the daily charge sheet. The treatment
records, when matched up with what was actually billed, veri-
fied the allegations of fraudulent billing. The owner of the
practice was found in violation of fraudulent billing, and was
also disciplined for failing to maintain adequate documen-
tation in treatment notes for patients treated the month
prior to the dates reported in the complaint.

Conversely, there have been cases where complaints were
made but, after review of the patient records, the documen-
tation by the physical therapist provided information that
refuted the allegations and the complaint was dismissed.
Some case examples of this include:

¢ A patient with low back pain filed a complaint alleging
that he was treated inappropriately by a physical therapist
and that the care was substandard. Review of the records
supported the physical therapist in that the treatments
and progression of care were appropriate for the patient’s
diagnosie and the complaint was dismissed.

¢ A patient alleged that a physical therapist offered to
provide free treatment following shoulder surgery. However,
copious documentation provided by the therapist, including
billing documentation, discussions with the patient, conver-

sations with the physicians, and other notes made in the
chart refuted the allegation and the complaint was dis-
missed.

* A patient alleged that her physical therapist did not
progrese her exercise program. The therapist's thorough
documentation of specific therapeutic exercises with steady
progression refuted the allegation and the complaint was
dismissed.

Based on the typical documentation deficiencies encoun-
tered during Board inguiries, here are a few hintes to improve
your documentation:

¢ Clearly document all the therapeutic interventions you
perform during each treatment session. Simply writing “sen-
sory integration” or “therapeutic exercise” without the spe-
cifics of the intervention(s) isn't enough. :

* Evaluations and re-evaluations should include both posi-
tive and negative objective findings, a diagriosis, and your
assessment of the findings that would alow any reader of
your evaluation to know your thought process in arriving at
the plan of care and subsequent clinical decision making.

* Take a few extra minutes each day to ensure your docu-
mentation is thorough and legible. If it can't be read, it isn't
meaningful; and if it wasnt docurnented, it wasn't done.

* Document the treatment time. This supports your billing.

* Document your phone calls and conversations with the
patient, the physician, the billing office, the attorney, and
any other persons involved in the care of the patient.

* Write a discharge summary on every patient you treat.

Your treatment record is a legal document that displays a
standard of care. These records may be used as svidence
for or against you in a legal proceeding. The AFTA has pro-
thuigated a standard of care for physical therapy and this
standard includes both the practice of physical therapy and
the documentation of that care. Failure to maintain ad-
equate documentation not only violates state law but may
fall below accepted standards of care constituting negli-
gence and grounds for a legal suit.

VISIT THE ARIZONA BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY WEBSITE AT
www.pthoard.siale.az.us
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Selecting Courses for Continuing Competency

The revised statues and rules of the Arizona State Board
of Physical Therapy (“Board”) mandate that all physical
therapists licensed by the State Of Arizona accrue (20)
contact hours of acceptable continuing competence for each
licensing cycle (every two years). To determine what is ac-
ceptable continuing education requires some study. In the
case of continuing competency “ignorance is rot bliss”. It is
your responsibility to be familiar with the Practice Act. The
Board’'s administrative rules [A.A.C. R4-24-401 through
403) define what is acceptable continuing education and
divides that education into several categories. Those cat-
egories and the very specific criteria for what is acceptable
continuing education in each category are mare thorcughly
described in the rules and are summarized elsewhere in this
newsletter.

In addition to the categories and criteria tisted in the rules
there are several other factors that should be considered.
Check out all coursework before you take the course. Get~
* ting retrospective approval for a course is difficult at best.
“Assure that any course you plan to attend and plan to claim
as Category A has been approved by an agency/organiza-
gion that the Board's administrative rules identify as an
acceptable approval agencyl/organization. The law is very
specific and some agencies and organizations that you mignt
think are acceptable are not included in the rules. The ad-
ministrative rules are very specific with respect to what or-
ganization can approve continuing education. Be assured
that the course you take has been approved by ore of the
acceptable organizations. Also, assure that you receive a
document that lists your name, the providing organization,
the date(s) the course is presented, what organization ap-
proves the course, and how many CEUs are awarded for suc-
cessful completion. Keep these documents so that if you
are audited by the Board you will be able 1o provide clear
evidence that you, indeed, have taken the requisite numbper
of approved contact hours.

There are also some other considerations in selecting ap-
propriate continuing education. Recall that the reason that
the Arizona statutes require continuing competence is to
assure that each therapist who retains an Arizona license

also retains and improves the licensee’s knowledge and skills
as a physical therapist. We as a group of therapists want
to protect the public we serve by assuring that we provide
the best possible treavment. Therefore, in addition to the
rules specified above we suggest that you consider the fol-
lowing when selecting continuing education coursework:

1. Does the speaker have the necessary education and ex-
perience to present the topic of the course? The course out-
line should provide this information.

2. Is sufficient time given to cover all topics listed in the
course outling?

3. Are there specific behavioral objectives presented in the
course outling that specify what the participant will achieve
by attending the course?

4. 1s there sufficient research data to support the
position(s) of the speaker?

B. Is the topic presented in & manner consistent with the
Guide to Physical Therapist Fractice?

6. s there sufficient time for questions after The formal
presentationa?

7. |8 the course presented in a manner consistent with the
course goals? For example, if you are expected tolearn clini-
cal skills, are there practice sessions with supervision pro-
vided?

The requirement for continuing competence is not a burden
but an opportunity for each therapist licensed by the State
of Arizona to be the best therapist possible. We hope that
the material above will help you achieve your full potential as
a physical therapist and appropriately fulfill the requirement
of continuing competence for renewal of your Arizona license.

David P. Guy, P.T., M.S.
Member, AZ State Board of P T Continuing Competence
Augdit Committee

uestions about the continuing competence requirements?

7/

Fage & January 2004

Contact the Arizona State Board of Physical Therapy at

602-542-3095.



ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY
1400 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 230 PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007
(602) 542-3095  Fax (602) 542-3093
CONTINUING COMPETENCE ACTIVITIES
TRACKING FORM

This form was used for reporting of continuing competence by licensees audited in 2002. We are providing the form if you wish
to use it for tracking your own continuing competence activities during the 2002 - 2004 compliance period. DO NOT SUBMIT

THIS FORM TO THE BOARD UNLESS YOU RECEIVE NOTICE OF AUDIT IN 2004.

Name: License #: Date: Compliance Period: 9/1/02 to 8/31/04

or contact hours by a physical therapy, medical or health care accredited program (school), state or

national association or national specialty society. Category A includes continuing education courses, coursework towards granting or renewsal of a physical therapy
clinical specialty, coursework in a clinical residedncy program, and coursework in post-graduate physical therapy education from an accredited college or university.
ALL LICENSEES SHALL EARN AT LEAST 10 CONTACT HOURS FROM CATEGORY A CONTINUING COMPETENCE ACTIVITIES. NO MORE THAN 5 OF THE

CATEGORY A continding competence activities are approved f

REQUIRED CONTACT HOURS FROM CATEGORY A SHALL BE OBTAINED FROM NON-CLINICAL COURSEWORK. You may earn more than 10 contact hours
from Category A up to the full 20 hour requirement.

Each 60 minutes of instruction = 1 contact hour. Breaks shall not be included as part of instructional time.

* Praof of Completion: Cerlificate of Attendance; Certificate of Completion; Sign-in Log (including date, time, location, hours, topic ard participants); Abstract or other cerlificate of completion.
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CATEGORY B continuing competence activities includes: (1) Study groups: structured meeting for study of a clinical PT topic with 3 or more participants (maximum 5 contact
hours); (2) Self-instruction: structured study relating to clinical PT topic (maximum 5 contact hours); (3) In-service education: presentation pertaining to practice of PT or
patient welfare or safety, including CPR certification (maximum 5 hours). NO MORE THAN 10 CONTACT HOURS MAY BE EARNED BY THE LICENSEE FROM

CATEGORIES B AND C ACTIVITIES. NO MORE THAN 5 CONTACT HOURS MAY BE OBTAINED FROM NON-CLINICAL COURSEWORK.

Study Group: 2 hours of participation = 1 contact hour, Self-instruction & In-service education: 60 minutes of instruction = 1 contact hour
* Proof of Completion: Certificate of Attendance; Certificate of Completion; Sign-in log (including date, time, location, hours, topic and participants); Abstract or other

certificate of completion

CATEGORY C continuing competence activities include: (1) Practice management coursework: concerning physical therapy administration, professionalism, ethics or law.
(maximum 5 contact hours); (2) Teaching or lecturing: presentation of an original education program for health professionals relating to practice of physical therapy and
accompanied by written materials (maximum 5 contact hours); {3) Publication: writing for professional publication, platform or poster presentation abstracts relating to
practice of physical theapy of at least 1,500 words published by a recognized third party publisher of physical therapy material (maximum 5 contact hours). NO MCORE

THAN 10 CONTACT HOURS MAY BE EARNED BY THE LICENSEE FROM CATEGORIES B AND C ACTIVITIES. NG MORE THAN 5 CONTACT HOURS MAY BE
OBTAINED FROM NON-CLINICAL COURSEWORK. .

Practice Management; 60 minutes of instruction = 1 contact hour.
Teaching: 60 minutes of instruction = 2.5 contact hours.

Publication: 1500 words = 5 contact hours.
* Proof of Completion: Certificate of Attendance; Certificate of Completion; Sign-in Log (including date, time, localion, hours, topic and participants); Abstract or other certificate of completion,




CONTINUING COMPETENCE ACTIVITIES

Documentation

Category Sub-category Approved by Activity Contact Hours Suggestions
P 1, medical or |
e T continut health care &0 minutes of
4 tlcon nung , accredited school, Attend instruction equals | Copy of certificate
& luca 'ﬁn cour?d(m- state or national :‘ .anc;c.'e or one contact hour of compietion or
¢ a.éié orze stcu o association or pardcipation (not including attendance.
A Intermet, eic.) national specidty breaks).
society.
(Az Ieis: 10 Coursework for
contact hours . )
obtaining or renewi
up to the full af Tlcllingical 5psciarl1t?y As above As above As above As above
20 hour certification.
requirgment. " *J[ i
No more than 5 Courseworkina P T
hours noh- clinical residency As above As above As above As above
clinical) program
Coursework in post-
graduate P T
education from an As above As above As above As above
accredited college or
univeraity.
B.1 Study Group Struc;tur.e.d study off 2 hours C‘opy of sign-in i?g
Maxi 5 contact No approval one clinical P T ticipation o with date, location
ammul:n comac required topic; minimum 3 pa1 Ic'pf i hequ topic, hours, names j
ours paiticipants. contact hour. of participants.
B No approval Structured course Copy of course
ired™ f st f outline, study notes
B.2 Self-Instruction™ || .. requir © u.d?" orone 60 minutes of oL uay
(Maximum 10 | Maxi 5 tact If approved by clinical otruct | lincluding time spent,
aximum  contac Category A F T topic. May be instruction equals certificats of
contact hours hours e h A one contact heur. s
from B and/or organization, see  ||directed by internet, complation (if
C No more than above. video, ete. appropriate).
5 hours non- . L Attendance at Copy of sign-in or
clinical) ) Applies Lo in-service presentation other proof of ||
B.3 In-service activities or b o
: pertaining to clinical attendance
Education coursework NOT ) i . .
Maxi 5 contact g practice of F T, As above including topic, date,
axlmur:n contac a(njpirove bg patient safety or tim e, place, sponsor
ours a 3?"’%{ welfare (includes OR certificate of
organization. CPR certification completion.

Copy of sign-in or

. No aE’Pm\fI Coure‘;sw.or*k &0 minutes equals other proof of
C1 Fractice required concerning
o o ; one contact hour; attendance
Management If approved by administration, M N " . . .
. : . ust "pass”in  lincluding topic, date,
Maximum 5 contact Category A professionalisim, S e .
T . pass/fail or "C" in  {time, place, e ponsor,
hours organization, see ethics or law o
' graded course OR certificate of
above. applicable to FT. X
C completion.
Presentation of One instructional Copy of written
{Maximum 0 C.2 Teaching or eriginal program hour equals 2.5 materials, course
contact hours Lecturing No approval relating to practice|| contact hours.  joutline or abstract,
from B and/or | Maximum S contact required of P T principally for Must be course brochure or
C. No more than hours health care accomparied by meeting
5 houtrs non- professionals writien materials, announcement.
clinical) Yriti
riting for
Profgsfiona! Minimum of 1500
C.3 Publication N roval publication or wordillgrllicz:goaarw ZT.OEOZOW Gf!
taximum 5 contact 0 approva abstracts that P . puplished articie,
required : Refereed=10 credit | abstract or book
hours have direct
L hours; Non- chapter.
application to foreed=5 hou
practice of P T. relereea= ”
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CHANGE OF ADDRESS AND TELEPHONE

Pursuant to A.R.S. §32-2027(B), each licensee and certificate holder is responsible for reporting to the board a name
change and changes in business and home addresses and telephone numbers within 30 days after the change. A name
change must be accompanied by a legal document. Changes of address and telephone numbers (business or home)
must be submitted to the board office in writing either via mail, fax (602-542-2083) or e-mail
(carol lopez@ptboard.state.az.us). For your convenience the following Change of Address/Telephone form may be used
to submit any changes to your contact information.

Name ' Lic. /Cert. # _________ E-mail

Name Change™™ (**Must include legal documentation)

Home Address change

Home Telephone change

Business Address change

Business Telephone change




